Is your diet making you ill?

I wanted to talk a little bit about food intolerances. If you are in Northern Ireland you may have seen Rocks n Rituals feature in the Sunday Life newspaper yesterday. Actress and model Gemma Garrett recently visited me to take a food intolerance test and she was certainly shocked by the results.

She had come to me because despite her best efforts to follow a healthy living plan she was feeling bloated and tired all the time. She felt sluggish and had low energy. Her results showed that she was reacting to yeast and cow’s milk in her diet.

If you read the article you will know that yeast is pretty much everywhere! I am also intolerant to yeast so I sympathise greatly with Gemma. You need to cut out bread, wine, beer, alcohol, vinegar, fermented foods, certain baked products ….. the list goes on and on.

When you search online for information about yeast intolerance you are bombarded with information about the candida diet. It is NOT the same thing at all! People who find out they react to yeast as part of a food intolerance test do not necessarily have a candida issue. They simply need to remove yeast-laden foods from the diet. They don’t have an overgrowth of yeast to deal with – just an intolerance to it.

From my own personal point of view I am yeast and dairy intolerant as well. I have been following a strict regime for the last few weeks and have to say that I am now feeling so much better than I was before. I had previously cut out wheat thinking it was the culprit for my symptoms but I know now it was yeast.

I suffered from joint pain, tiredness, bloating, stomach cramps, IBS, tiredness and lethargy. I had also found it difficult to lose weight. I had seen doctors and had been on various diets but nothing helped until I discovered I was yeast and dairy intolerant.

In the first 10 days I lost an inch off my waist, 2 off my bust and 2 off my hips – that was motivation to continue despite not being able to drink wine and eat cheese! I feel so much brighter and energetic. I have no more joint pain and I feel fantastic.

It is really important to ensure your diet is balanced and that you are still getting all the right nutrients so make sure you speak to a professional before making changes to your diet.

I’d love to hear from you – do you think you could have a food intolerance? Would you like to find out more? Please leave me a comment or visit my website for more details about the food testing and advice I can offer.

Leave a Reply

