The Changing Face of Reiki Training

I have been doing a lot of soul searching over the last few months and part of my dilemma was how to improve on the Reiki training that I provide.

Since qualifying as a Reiki Master in 2012 I have learned so much. Reiki really is a journey of self-discovery more than anything else and as you progress along the path, your knowledge deepens and things change for the better.

I have always known the importance of the personal and spiritual development side of Reiki. I have emphasised the need for reflection, meditation and discipline with my students. I want now to make my training a more complete education for my students, rather than it just feeling like random workshops spaced throughout the year. I would like to offer more structure and content.

I always offer students the opportunity to attend for Reiki sessions before they begin to learn how to channel the energy for themselves. I invite them along to follow up Reiki sessions, Reiki shares and to meditation groups so whilst the “training” is done in a short workshop format – the teaching is much deeper than that. My new programme will formalise these additional sessions into a structured approach and will become part of the training process.

In the West we tend to rush through the Levels and some Masters even offer training to Level 3 within a weekend. I have been leaning more and more towards the Japanese teachings which take the student on a much deeper spiritual journey and therefore take longer to complete. Obviously in our Western society it would be relatively impossible for people to adhere completely to the Japanese style of taking months and years to complete training to Master level but I want to bring in an amalgamation of both traditions.

I am working on a 12 month programme which will take the student through from complete Reiki novice to completing their Level 3 Master training within a 12 month period. Please note that just because you become a “Reiki Master” – it does not mean you are fully enlightened! Being a Reiki Master is just the start of a much deeper personal journey which will take many years – it will take the rest of your life.

My 12 month programme will offer a complete journey through all the levels. It will include introductory Reiki sessions – these will be private one to one Reiki sessions where you can work with me as you start your Reiki journey. The programme will also offer group sessions with the other students in your year – we will share Reiki together, have group meditation sessions and discussions and we will practice some of the Japanese techniques, mantras and empowerments. As the year progresses these sessions will have the traditional Reiki classes and attunements brought in so that gradually each student will move from Level 1 right up to Level 3.

Each student will essentially benefit from multiple private Reiki sessions, multiple group healing sessions, group meditation and learning sessions as well as the traditional attunements and Reiki workshop classes. This programme is being designed to bring in as much of the traditional Japanese teaching style as possible whilst remaining suitable for a Western audience.

I will be releasing full details about this new training programme very soon. The programme will allow you to spread the cost over 12 months in small monthly instalments. In the event you don’t want to commit to the entire year you can still benefit from taking sections of the course for Levels 1 and 2 alone.

The first intake of students will be in September 2016 with a second intake in January 2017. If you would like to register your interest please leave me your email address in the comments or private message me via Facebook. By leaving your details you are not under any obligation to sign up – at this stage it is just an information gathering exercise to see who would be interested in this programme.

Reiki has really turned my life around and I am passionate about spreading the healing love and light to as many people as possible. Even if you do not intend to practice professionally as a Reiki therapist you can still take this training and bring in the wonderful benefits to your life.

Namaste

3 thoughts on “The Changing Face of Reiki Training

Leave a Reply

