Failure is temporary – giving up is permanent!

I keep a gratitude journal and the little diary I am using this year has some beautiful and uplifting quotes written for each day. Today’s was: –

“Failure is temporary but giving up is permanent.”

It really resonated with me and struck a chord. I am not going to lie, things have been difficult recently. I have found myself preoccupied with financial concerns and worries about my children’s future.

Despite working really hard on lots of projects over the last few months, the money just isn’t coming in at the moment and I have, if truth be known, considered throwing in the towel with my business.

I started to think that perhaps it wasn’t meant to be and that I should just go back to working for someone else in order to be guaranteed a decent income.

Every time I have these thoughts I just want to cry. I know that I would be so unhappy being back in corporate land working 9-5 again. I have worked long and hard to be able to run my own business and it breaks my heart to think I would have to give it all up.

But still the thoughts come in – rationally I need to earn more money and if the business is not providing the income then I will have to look elsewhere. Simple.

Not simple at all. Is earning a decent wage enough reason to make myself unhappy? How would I enjoy the money if I was too sick and stressed from working somewhere I didn’t really want to be?

Emotionally, mentally and spiritually I know that I am fulfilling my life’s purpose by running my business and helping people transform their lives. I know that my training courses are excellent value for money and that they work. Physically, or rather, materially, the business is struggling just at the moment.

I have to have faith that things will come good again. I know I am good at what I do and I know that the work I have put in will pay off soon. I have to hold on to what I believe in and walk my talk now. I have to believe that the universe is an inherently abundant place and that I have more than enough.

It’s hard though to stay upbeat and positive – but perhaps that is my test?!

One of my clients hugged me today and said “I am so glad I found you!” – I almost cried. I had been pondering whether to put out a notice saying the business was closing down and then this happened. I thought about all the people I have helped over the years and all the people who I have served.  It occurred to me that if I closed down the business then I would no longer be able to help those people or anyone else!

My life is amazing and I am really happy to be able to be myself and get paid for what I love to do. I needed the reminder that just because some projects have failed to get off the ground, it doesn’t mean that I should give up.

Failure is a temporary state. If I give up then it makes that state permanent and I do not want to be a permanent failure. I am going to carry on and welcome in all help from the universe in whatever way it comes – perhaps it is time to stop worrying about how it will happen and just trust that it will!

I thought I would share these thoughts with you today. Perhaps you needed to hear this too and it may help you in some way. I would love to hear from you – how do you push yourself forward and keep going when things get tough?

If you would like to learn more about me and my business please visit my website, www.rocksnrituals.co.uk.

 

Leave a Reply

